A password will be e-mailed to you.
Babe Rainbow are making music vividly respectful of the past, whilst emphatically living in the present; a confluence of sounds and sentiments from a place between yesterday and tomorrow.

Sharing the euphoric Jaden Smith collab Your Imagination back in March, ‘Ready For Tomorrow’ is the prophetic new single, both taken from new album ‘Changing Colours’ released next week on 14th May via the band’s own label Eureka Music through AWAL for digital, and Flightless Records for vinyl worldwide.

‘Ready for Tomorrow’ is a contradiction of singer Angus Dowling‘s disco flavour up the front and Cool Breeze folk picking guitar style as its anchor. It finds the band celebrating but in a mood.

He says, “it’s about 21st-century life, finding relief from the stress of both the future and the past. It is about Persephone running into her mother Demeters comforting arms.”

Keeping it theirs and local, ‘Ready for Tomorrow’ is accompanied by a vintage style video shot by band confidante and former bass player Jordan Malane, around the local village watering hole, the Eltham Hotel.

The song was first born in the Topanga Canyon studio of producer Kyle Mudlark, and then finished with producer Wayne Connolly in the familiar surrounds of Music Farm Studios, in the Byron hinterland. Between those ends of the rainbow, the band has found a plot of land very much of their own.

Babe Rainbow have consolidated all that’s wonderful about their previous music, and pushed further in each direction on new album Changing Colours. A band that casually and organically celebrated the past whilst growing into their own original sound. A fold in a mythical road map between California and Byron Bay; compressing time, like a needle skipping over the past half-century of music.

Changing Colours is out next Friday, 14th May

Babe Rainbow – ‘Changing Colours’
out 14th May via Eureka Records/AWAL/Flightless Records

1. Zeitgeist
2. The Wind
3. Your Imagination
4. Ready For tomorrow
5. California
6. Rainbow Rock
7. New Zealand Spinach
8. Thinking Like A River
9. Curl Free
10. Smile
11. Changing Colours

Skip to toolbar