A password will be e-mailed to you.

Detroit based post-rock, indie sextet Bars of Gold have just dropped “$20” from their forthcoming LP “SHELTERS“. The name of the track was inspired by the way James Brown used to fine his live band anytime they made a mistake on stage. The album, due April 12th via Rude Records in partnership with Equal Vision Records, was produced by the band along with Chris Koltay (War on Drugs. Kurt Vile, Deerhunter, etc..). Pre-order the album HERE.

Consisting of members of seminal post-hardcore band Bear vs. Shark and Detroit experimental mainstays Wildcatting, Bars of Gold have honed in on their frenetic, guitar-driven post-rock with the addition of a 4th guitarist, John Gaviglio, longtime friend of the band and ex-Bear vs. Shark guitarist. Add in Marc Paffi’s urgent howls and you have an ambient post-rock record with torrential rhythms, a melodic foray of extremely keen sensibilities for dynamics melded with an underlying realized anxiety. Six years since their highly lauded “Wheels” LP, Bars of Gold are never one to rush a good thing and it’s apparent in the carefully considered music within the tracks of “SHELTERS”, an album that’s fortified in friendship and family and borders on musical telepathy.

“Shelters” Artwork and Tracklisting:

01. Worthless Chorus
02. Atlantic City
03. $20
04. Sometimes
05. Beans
06. Madonna
07. Montana
08. Plywood to Pine
09. G

Skip to toolbar