A password will be e-mailed to you.

Launching from Norwich, pop-punks Crossing The Limits have announced that their debut EP entitled ‘Perseverance’ will be self-released on 6th April 2018.

Rachael Holland, the vocalist for the newcomers, sets the scene:

“It’s about walking through the storm. Life gets rough, but you have to keep going. You can’t just sit there in your rut and give up, you have to persevere through setbacks to grow.”

Now available for streaming, is the quintet’s bright and infectiously catchy debut single ‘Won’t Settle, with Holland revealing:

“I wrote this track when I was dating someone who didn’t really feel as if they were making any effort at all. I’d just gotten over a really bad break up, and they were the first person I’d really liked for a while, but they were completely emotionally unavailable.

I just said to myself “I cannot settle for someone who just isn’t 100% there”. We want people who listen to this song to feel empowered, you have to walk away from anything that isn’t serving your happiness.”

Completed by Tom Colmans and Dan Smith on Guitar, Tim Clements on Bass and Ben Brennan on Drums, Crossing The Limits came together thanks to ‘the internet’, with Holland recalling:

“I’d just gotten out of another band I’d been in for a few years, but it had reached a point where we weren’t all on the same page anymore.

I felt pretty disheartened but I knew that I wasn’t done.

I began searching online for members to start a new band with, who were all committed and driven. Our ambition is for our music to uplift people and inspire them to be who they are.” 

With the line-up complete, the members set about writing material, drawing upon lessons they had learned over the past year.

Not all of the songs made the cut, but after 4 months the band had the material that would become the record, seeing them dealing with topics such as “the heartbreak of a first love; loss of friendship; not being afraid to carry on going alone and resisting the urge to fall in line by favouring your own path in life.”

Recorded at Steel City Studios with Drew Lawson and mastered by Grant Berry at Fader, Holland fondly recalls:

Staying in a budget hotel, living off of fast food and being around each other all the time brought us all closer together, and we really got to know each other and how to agree to disagree sometimes.

These guys are my best friends, and the support we give each other is amazing, they’re my brothers.”

Naming Neck Deep, Tonight Alive, State Champs and Against The Current amongst their influences, on ‘PerseveranceCrossing The Limits offer up a delightfully energetic and uplifting dose of posi-pop-punk. Holland concludes:

“There aren’t enough female fronted bands out there right now, we can bring it just as much as any male fronted band. We’re coming full force.”

Crossing The Limits ‘Perseverance’ tracklisting: 1. Won’t Settle | 2. Predictable | 3. Reverse | 4. Chaos | 5. My Own Way
Crossing The Limits Self-release Debut EP ‘Perserverance’ On 06/04/18
Crossing The Limits Live: 20/04/18 at The Waterfront, Norwich

More From Crossing The Limits: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Skip to toolbar