A password will be e-mailed to you.

John Van Deusenis thrilled to announce his brand new record, ‘(I Am) Origami Pt. 3 –A Catacomb Hymn’, out July 19th via Tooth & Nail Records. Van Deusenhas also shared the first single, “Whatever Makes You Mine.” Fans can stream it now and pre-order the new album at https://jvd.lnk.to/mine.

I was staying alone at a lodge in the Cascade Mountains when I wrote this song. I booked the trip to write and record some new music and the previous week I had been obsessed with Sasquatch legends; some of which are fairly dark and scary,” recalls Van Deusen. “Needless to say I found myself kind of frightened at night because the lodge was in the heart of “Bigfoot” territory. The lodge made lots of eerie noises and I kept imagining some big hairy creature watching me sleep.

He continues: “I found myself writing ‘Whatever Makes You Mine’ in the dead of night in response to my loneliness and fear; my desire to be with someone, anyone was overwhelming.

John VanDeusen creates aggressively honest, thematically rich power pop. His style is built on a strange foundation of influences, resulting in an indie rock sound that feels both familiar and curious. From his early career in The Lonely Forest (Trans/Atlantic Records) to his recent outings as a solo recording artist, intimacy and vulnerability have been hallmarks of his songwriting. Consider his work as a little note that says, “It’s okay to not be okay.

Van Deusen currently lives in Anacortes, Washington, with his wife and cat, and helps run a board game store. He also yells and plays bass in the hardcore punk band BUFFET.

‘(I Am) Origami Pt. 3 -A Catacomb Hymn’ will be released on July 19th through Tooth & Nail Records. For this album and its forthcoming sequel, Van Deusen teamed with producer and friend Andy D. Park (Pedro the Lion, Deep Sea Diver). Fans can pre-order it now at https://jvd.lnk.to/mine

(I Am) Origami Pt. 3 –A Catacomb Hymn Tracklisting:

1. Whatever Makes You Mine

2. Let Me Let You Use My Power

3. Universal Will to Become

4. Social Sucker

5. Steal from Myself (It’s All About Me!)

6. If All is Nothing / Nothing Must End

7. Fly Away To Hell

8. Nothing Ever Comes of It

9. You Don’t Know What You’re Asking

10. Numb


Upcoming Tour Dates:

6/14 –Cambridge, CAN @ Rhythm and Brews Brewing Company

6/15 –Ottawa, CAN @ Bar Robo

6/16 –Toronto, CAN @ Wenona Craft Beer Lodge

Skip to toolbar