A password will be e-mailed to you.


Following the release of singles ‘Hunger Pains here and ‘Slumber here, Emo punks Layover have released their EP ‘Your Laugher Never Leaves’ via Fox Records. Vocalist Luke Rainsford reveals that “it is a collection of songs detailing the difficulty of loss. All of these songs stem from the loneliness and hopelessness of losing somebody, whether through death, or through other circumstances.” The five-tracker can be obtained digitally here, in physical format (CD and vinyl) here and streamed on Spotify here.

Formed in 2014 and completed by Dominic Cattell on Guitar, Elliot Wallett on Bass and Brad Fisher on Drums, this 2018 version of Layover can be considered a clean slate. Previously releasing “very DIY” material that is misaligned with their renewed energy and considered aesthetic, Rainsford explains: “The sound of our old music does not represent us, and we have matured as musicians and people since then. We come with a new direction to start in a genre we are more passionate about.” It is, therefore, a happy coincide that their Bukowski derived name is still suited: “Layover by definition is a rest or a wait before a further stage in a journey. We felt this was relevant to the stage we were all at in our lives,” Rainsford recalls.

Learning from what the quartet consider mistakes of their past, Layover made their way to a recording studio for the first time, to work with Ian Sadler at Emeline Studios for ‘Your Laugher Never Leaves’: “We clicked really well with him. He instantly got on board with the sound, helped us organise and perfect our parts and had some really cool ideas that we feel added the finishing touches.” Wrapped up with mastering by Grant Berry at Fader, ‘Your Laughter Never Leaves’ is a gritty, witty and pretty 5 tracks of emo with a pop-punk heart. With the band citing influences such as Tiny Moving Parts, Tigers Jaw and The Wonder Years, they address topics of mental health and loss, sensitively and sincerely. As they explain: “We are bringing a sound that is predominantly based within the American market. Our honesty and intense live shows bring a refreshing atmosphere that we feel sets us apart, but ultimately we are just 4 close friends trying to share our music.”

Layover ‘Your Laughter Never Leaves’ tracklisting: 1. Hunger Pains | 2. Coffee and Fluoxetine | 3. Hollow Me Out | 4. Slumber | 5. Your Laughter Never Leaves

Layover Released EP ‘Your Laughter Never Leaves’ Via Fox Records On 04/05/18. Get It:
Digitally: https://foxrecords.bandcamp.com/album/your-laughter-never-leaves
Physically (CD & Ltd. Edition 12” Vinyl): http://foxrecords.limitedrun.com/  
Layover Live: 19th May: The Pilgrim, Liverpool | 20th May: Aatma, Manchester
More From Layover: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Spotify


Skip to toolbar